File A-18



UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

ANNOUNCEMENT NO. 39

DATE: April 12, 1979

TO:

ALL NRC EMPLOYEES

SUBJECT: PRESERVATION OF RECORDS RELATING TO THE ACCIDENT AT THE

THREE MILE ISLAND NUCLEAR STATION, UNIT 2

The NRC has received a Freedom of Information Act request from Anthony Z. Roisman, Natural Resources Defense Council, for "all documents and communications of any kind received by or in the possession of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission relating to the Three Mile Island Unit 2." Mr. Roisman's request, dated April 5, 1979, has been distributed to FOIA Coordinators in every NRC office. We have received a similar request for the Three Mile Island records from the Union of Concerned Scientists, and anticipate that there will be other requests regarding the accident. Additionally, these records also may be needed for use in future investigations by the staff, by the independent commission to be established by the President, and others.

In order to preserve the integrity of the files, it is essential that all agency records which pertain to, or were prepared as a result of, the accident be collected and retained. Specific instructions regarding these documents will be forthcoming. In the interim, however, if you have agency records relating to the Three Mile Island Unit 2 accident, please forward them as soon as possible through your FOIA Coordinator to the Freedom of Information and Privacy Branch, DRR. A list of the FOIA Coordinators is attached. Each document should be clearly marked on the cover page with the docket number (50-320) and -- to the extent possible -- the originating individual, the office, subject, and the date originated.

A special reading file has been established in the NRC Public Document Room, as well as at the Local Public Document Room in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, where documents relating to the Three Mile Island facility and the accident are being made available to the public. Procedures are

also now being formulated to provide these document rooms with weekly updates of documents subject to the requests.

If there are any questions regarding this memorandum, please call Don Grimsley, Chief, Freedom of Information and Privacy Branch, on 492-8133.

J. M. Felton, Director
Division of Rules and Reco

Division of Rules and Records Office of Administration

Attachment: As stated

FOIA COORDINATORS

John Hoyle	SEÇY	H-1149	634-3255
Charles J. Fitti	ASLBP	EW-450	492-7814
Alan S. Rosenthal	ASLAP	EW-529	492-7662
Hugh Voress	ACRS	H-1016	634-1406
Roger Fortuna	OIA	LA-1220	492-7170
Laurie Speiser	OPE	H-1007	634-3295
Bill Shields	OGC :	H-1035	634-3215
Joe Fouchard	OPA	MNBB-3709 .	492-7771
Steve Kent	OCA	H-1057	634-1468
Tom Engelhardt	ELD :	MNBB-9604	492-7503
Charles A. Beckwith	CON	L-212	492-8184
Edward E. Tucker	EEO '	MNBB-7203	492-7697
Norman Haller	MPA	MNBB-5217	492-8054
James Shea	IP	MNBB-8103	492-7886
Robert Ryan	SP	MNBB-7717	492~8170
Ron Scroggins	RES	SS-1130	427-4344
Dennis Crutchfield	NRR	P-433	492-8041
Bob Paulus	IE	EW-359	492-7246
George Beveridge	NMSS	SS-958	427-4072
Henry Rubin	OSD	NL-5650	443-5942
Edward Halman	CONTR	SS-286	427-4460
Robert Whipp	SEC	SS-254	427-4476
Gary Davidson	0&P	LA-1220	492-8260